The Pitch – A Review By The Most Annoyed AdMan In The World

By / / I certainly can’t call myself the most interesting ad man in the world. But then again, neither could half of the “professionals” in the first episode of The Pitch, a new AMC show that delves inside the gritty world of advertising. Now, before I continue, there are more spoilers in this review than there are spineless wonders in the average account department. There’s just no way around it, folks. To say what has to be said, I have to reveal all. So if you haven’t seen it yet, don’t read this before you watch the episode below. (If you have seen it, and thought the outcome was well deserved, don’t read this either. Instead, go and work for a crappy client like Subway. You’ll like it better over there.) OK, so the premise of the show is simple enough. Take one big client, put two agencies on the pitch, and give them less than a week to come up with brilliance. (We’ll get to the “brilliance” in a moment.) The first episode of The Pitch pits two agencies against each other – McKinney, a mid-sized shop from North Carolina, and WDCW (formerly WongDoody) from Los Angeles. And the massive account they’re pitching for? Subway, the largest fast food chain in the world, with pockets deep enough to match. The task was one with plenty of meat: aim Subway’s new breakfasts at the 18-24 crowd. The rotund marketing director from the ‘bway said he wanted something that wasn’t SOS (Same Old Subway). Something big, bold, different, clever, original. You know, the usual manure clients spout before they crap all over your ideas and ask for SOS (Same Old Shit). The two agencies eagerly took notes before running back to the office to be inspired. Tricky, considering they took the brief from a bunch of lifeless corporate yawns in a room that would make an unfinished basement look glamorous. Now to be fair, the show is somewhat entertaining to anyone in our industry. It can’t help but be involving; we live and breathe this stuff. To others, it’s probably in the same zone as The Apprentice. They don’t really give a shit about the process, they just want to see a train wreck. Both WDCW and McKinney seem like typical agencies, filled with the usual mix of wannabe rock-star creatives, overdressed account execs, and the owners who jump in at the last minute to fuck things up. But watching the process, it was clear from the beginning that one agency knew exactly what they were doing, and the other one was flailing around in the deep end. McKinney were way out of their league here. After some laughable brainstorming sessions from McKinney, two “stellar” ideas rose to the top, much like shit floats in the toilet. The first, pitched by an annoying drama-queen copywriter with aspirations of mediocrity, revolved around Subway’s sandwiches getting some kind of makeover on a reality talk show. The host is a sandwich. The audience is a sandwich. Oh God. Shoot me now. The insipid script was the last nail in that idea’s coffin, with puerile lines like: “Welcome back to let’s fix breakfast. Today we’re going to make over Jenny’s breakfast. Here’s what Jenny used to eat…” and (prepare for a douche chill moment) “Are you ready to see what Jenny’s breakfast looks like now?! GIRL, you are lookin’ flavorized.” At this point I wanted to crawl in a hole and die. But I was too busy laughing. The second idea wasn’t an idea at all. The creative team found a video online of some cretin called MacLethal (arghhh) who got 9 million views for rapping about breakfast. Flash of genius follows – “Hey, he got 9 million views. He’s rapping about breakfast. Young people love rapping. They love breakfast. He’s already popular. HOME RUN!” Yeah, right. Then, they let this chunky Eminem wannabe write the whole song, presumably while they sit and sweat in a corner of the office as they realize one devastating fact: the whole idea was a loser from the beginning, but they sold the fucking thing in. WDCW, on the other hand, were very different. They hit on an idea that had legs. In fact, the legs had legs. The basic idea was that we’re all brain-dead zombies in the morning, especially the target audience. As a former 20-year old college student who rarely saw 11am, I know just what they mean. So, they coined the phrase “zAMbies” and came up with some nice work to go with it. Great images of drooling teens with half-eaten McMuffins hanging out of their gormless mouths. There were some fun, irreverent lines aimed at those morons: No be zAMbie Eat this. No feel bad. And scripts that had some real fun. “LOOK, talking words. You breakfast zambie? You no think about where go breakfast? Just grab brown circle food because fast? Stop do. Go Subway. No be zambie!” The usual rounds of changes were made internally, then they all hopped on a plane to face the firing squad at Subway. To say the presentation by McKinney started badly is being kind. It was clear the stupid “Let’s fix breakfast” ideas was falling flat. Nice line, but rotten execution. The crickets and tumbleweeds in the pitch room confirmed my feelings that this was possibly one of the worst ideas in the history of shitty ideas. Subway’s marketing bores couldn’t crack a smile. Then they brought out the rapping “idea” and it went down well. Not great, but well. Of course, it didn’t hurt that they filmed it in a Subway restaurant. Gotta get the client’s product in. They also brought MacLethal in to do a live freestyle rap. I fastforwarded that part, my brain was hurting. WDCW went second, with their one solid idea. It killed. Killed. The Subway crowd loved it. And making these hollow vessels laugh is beyond tricky. The pitch was in the bag for Tracy Wong. That was until one stereotypical client bitch pipes up about there not being enough product shots in the work. My heart sank. I knew it was all over. I’ve been there. You’ve been there. That small seed of doubt becomes a giant beanstalk of failure. What followed next, we won’t really know. The hours of debate, butchering ideas and shitting on work, was not shown in the episode. All we saw was Subway’s Mr. Fatman announcing to McKinney that their shitty idea (which was basically “let’s re-do this YouTube video”) had won. They had the account, WDCW’s risk-taking and originality was rewarded with a trip home empty handed. A crying fucking shame. And that, ladies and gentleman, is what is so teeth-grindingly annoying about this show. It builds you up and drops you on your ass. And it shows, once again, that clients don’t want what they ask for. They think they want brave, but they don’t. They think they want original, but not even close. They want “safe with a new twist.” I mean seriously, a guy rapping about breakfast? That’s about as cool as those 80s Wendy’s training videos. What’s even more ironic is that the chubby marketing guy called out WDCW for their former work on Quizno’s, using singing cats. That was, in effect, something “inspired” by online content. I wasn’t keen on it to be honest. But WDCW clearly took that to heart and went completely original. Then Subway hands the account to the dimwits from NC who do exactly the same thing – borrowing from pop culture. Infuriating. Will I be watching The Pitch again? Yes. Because I’m a real fucking glutton for punishment, and although I know the best work has no chance of winning, I dare to dream that in one of the episodes, justice will be done. Tracy Wong and team, if you’re reading this, you clearly deserved the win. The online poll they’re doing at AMC also shows a vast majority of people thought you should have won, too. Take heart in that. McKinney, you lucky fucks, please think about how you can turn your winning turd into something that doesn’t suck. And Subway. You don’t deserve a good ad agency. You deserve Jared. Felix is a site contributor, ranter and curmudgeon for The Denver Egotist. He’s been in the ad game a long time, but he’s still young enough to know he doesn’t know everything. He’s been known, on occasion, to drink alcohol by the gallon. Do as he says, not as he does.

Comments

  1. Gary D. April 18, 2012

    Who wrote this?
    Who wrote this?

  2. nickn April 18, 2012

    will i be wasting my time
    will i be wasting my time watching the next episode? no.
    will i be reading your recap? yes.

    gold jerry. gold.

  3. Holly April 18, 2012

    I’m obsessed with this show
    I’m obsessed with this show already. It makes me feel smart as I shake a fist at the TV and pull my hair out with the other hand.

  4. Gregg Bergan April 18, 2012

    Another glaring misstep was
    Another glaring misstep was the producers’ decision to leave Court Crandall on the cutting room floor while they obsessed instead on Tracy’s natty footwear.

    Not that Tracy isn’t worthy of screen time, but Court (the “C” in WDCW, and the screenwriter of Old School) was probably the smartest, funniest guy in the room.

  5. michael d April 18, 2012

    Just reading your article
    Just reading your article gave me a knot in my stomach, which is why I didn’t watch. I live it every day and don’t need to watch clients choose the wrong ideas as entertainment.

  6. Dave_MKE April 18, 2012

    I’ve seen this Zombie/Subway
    I’ve seen this Zombie/Subway t-shirt design all over the Internet for years.

    http://30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_l7fhahLL3d1qzm13oo1_500.jpg

  7. Trent April 18, 2012

    Oh my god. McKinney is
    Oh my god. McKinney is fucking terrible. I mean those are genuinely awful ideas and worse they’re encouraged by terrible creative directors. And Subway? You deserve the worst. You passed on a great idea for a piece of crap.

  8. Anonymous April 18, 2012

    Maybe this helps clients
    Maybe this helps clients realize how fucking ass-backwards retarded they are.

  9. Jacqui April 19, 2012

    This episode reminded me of
    This episode reminded me of what a wise partner/AD once told me: Sometimes you just can’t keep the dog from drinking out of the toilet.

    Drink up, Subway. Drink up.

  10. Politicass April 19, 2012

    I heard they pay for watching
    I heard they pay for watching television and writing about it if you rock the cas ba here like Felix. Instead of all this other blah blah soft stool meaningless crap on here?

  11. Politicass April 19, 2012

    Oh sorry, I omitted ^ shit ^
    Oh sorry, I omitted ^ shit ^ crap! That makes it so much more pointient as to the clarification of f^^king great out of this world writers and wannabees that get smacked flat on their asses trying to compete.

  12. LA April 19, 2012

    I watched it with an Ad
    I watched it with an Ad Civilian, and what I said to her was that 1) We have no idea what was edited out by the people “crafting” reality TV, and 2) The show wants it look like clients make their decisions based on the creative alone, when obviously McKinney did something (financial undercutting? just plain begging?) to seal the deal. It was plain to see Tracy’s ideas were “better,” but I’m apt to blame reality TV much more than clients or even the ad industry for how weird everything came off in the show. And like I told my civilian friend, 3) Who the hell knows what normal people think of all this anyway.

  13. Car April 19, 2012

    Here’s something to mull
    Here’s something to mull over: who is quicker to just parrot the stuff that’s easy and that they’re “supposed” to say…clients who want to see more shots of the product…or ad creatives who want to talk about all clients being stupid and wrong? As ad people, we saw a bunch of the foibles of our industry in the show, sure, but it was all being CDed by a reality show crew (hence the long scene at the home of the McKinney CD, to humanize the woman they had coming off like such a beeyatch in the first half…OR cutting Court C out, which–no disrespect–don’t be so quick to assume he was the most interesting guy, they had some reason to cut him out)…the general public sees our industry differently than we do.

    For that matter, so do clients, and it doesn’t mean they’re stupid toilet drinking impotent violent metaphors.

    Oh, and no amount of editing can make getting your ideas from youtube look good.

  14. Duder April 19, 2012

    http://www.amctv.com/the-pitc
    http://www.amctv.com/the-pitch/videos/contains-spoilers-why-they-won-episode-101-subway-the-pitch

    In case you missed it, that link is a video of Subway’s CMO giving rationale on why they went with McKinney. If anything, it made me very curious about what was left on the cutting room floor. (Methinks $)

  15. Califour April 19, 2012

    As a creative, I went through
    As a creative, I went through learning the intensive creative process worse than a plane crash without – no advice – no explanation. Luckfully I have a knack for it and found my own way and my own style being in a sense competitive and not a pushover by my elderots.

    I cannot imagine if it were televised. I would never ok it!

    I hate all the drama that goes into the process that everybody eats up. Especially in houses with girls snapping and tipping their hair out if it is not coed couple screwing in the next room. The corporate decisions in turn are determined on this sick behavioral gossiping addiction and are maybe far from reality perhaps not so much, but it also just encourages people to act this way to get ahead and play games which I believe everyone should stand against even if it is the opitomy of Jerry springer.

    There I said it. I strive for a balance of humility and everything that goes along with my work and who I am.

    Shows can use hype in both positive and negative energy and light. It is just annoying as hell when the articulation and goal is lost in childish comments and popularity stunts on these sort of ‘popular of the long decade shows’!

  16. Adverse April 19, 2012

    I’m so happy there is this
    I’m so happy there is this new show for people to talk about events and characters instead of using lame mixed acronyms and names to underdog past graces in the greatness In mediocrity that this world wide web has provided for us!

  17. adZ April 19, 2012

    You omitted
    You omitted round-about-referencial slamming of the lowest kind for all the for the success and future success of the majority mediocres of today!

  18. adsuckage April 19, 2012

    The hardest part is working
    The hardest part is working with people on either end. No matter how calculated you are about the scenario, and delegating the tasks. Some people just do the shyte their gonna do and call it a day and some people really know what’s going on – hard to see in such few assuming appearance and words.

  19. Michael Durwin April 19, 2012

    I was so annoyed and
    I was so annoyed and disappointed in the agencies and their ideas that I launched beatthepitch.tumblr.com so every week I could post my own pitch. I kicked out the subway pitch in about 3 hours.

  20. SaladMan April 19, 2012

    3 hours you say? Looks more
    3 hours you say? Looks more like 2. Sorry, but that work is about as cliché as it gets. Not you dad’s (or mom’s) _________ is not even something you write in a brief any more, it’s that trite. Piece of advice – don’t say it, prove it.

  21. Life's A Pitch And Then You Die April 19, 2012

    While I basically agree with
    While I basically agree with much of what “Felix” had to say in his review, bear in mind that reality TV is a contradiction in terms. “The Pitch” is about as real as “The Apprentice” or “The Real Housewives of Bosnia Serbia.” Shows like these thrive on drama, tension and conflict. If they do not manifest themselves during the shoot, they will be manufactured in the editing room.

    From what I’ve heard from both agencies, there was a great deal that was left on the cutting room floor. For example, McKinney apparently presented three campaigns, not two. And both agencies supposedly presented fully integrated campaigns rather than just a single 30-second TV commercial. (Both agencies said they would put the work they created for the pitch on their respective websites but neither has done so to date.)

    While nobody came off looking particularly good, the general consensus seems to be that Jonathan Cude of McKinney was the worst. He appeared to be distant, arrogant, cold, humorless, stiff and lacking in either talent or judgment. But again, how much of that is a true reflection of the man and how much is simply the product of editors looking for a villain? The guy’s produced some terrific work. I’ve also heard him on the “Don’t Get Me Started” podcast; he seemed genuinely decent and down-to-earth. So who knows? (I also wonder why the two ECDs and the two copywriters at McKinney got significant face time — but the two art directors didn’t? Also, why was Tracy Wong the only one at WCDW to get the personalized treatment?)

    And that “annoying drama-queen copywriter” at McKinney? OK, she didn’t come off too good, either. But check out her online portfolio. She’s done some pretty kick-ass stuff. Her “Spent” website for the Urban Ministries of Durham has earned plenty of acclaim and awards. (And really, was her babbling about being afraid any sillier than Tracy Wong comparing himself to a gladiator glistening with sweat?)

    I do agree that, from what we saw of the work itself, McKinney’s was distinctly inferior. I did like the “Let’s Fix Breakfast” line — but, as it turns out, Stouffer’s is currently running a campaign with the slogan “Let’s Fix Dinner.”

    WCDW’s work was better but I don’t think it was a slam dunk. The idea at the core of the campaign was brilliant but the actual execution was more annoying than amusing. If they actually produced it, it could very easily have been as off-putting as the singing cats from Quizno’s.

    The bottom line is that two very talented agencies left themselves looking like a bunch of vapid, self-absorbed, self-important twits. If they are at all surprised that they’d be edited to look like idiots by the producers of a “reality” show, they are in the wrong business.

  22. Anonymous April 19, 2012

    does Jonathan Cude still run
    does Jonathan Cude still run McKinney? He’s about as cool as a bag of dicks.

  23. Anonymous April 19, 2012

    Just so you know. That show
    Just so you know. That show was severely almost to the point of making fiction out of facts. Reality is WDCW and McKinney both pitched three separate campaigns. The only reason they showed only one of WDCW’s is because the clients hated the others. I have a friend who works there. They agre Court should have had more screen time, but Tracy is a little more interesting from an intellectual and personality perspective. Take that show with a 2-ton grain of salt. They also only had four days from client briefing to client meeting.

  24. Vladimir Jones April 19, 2012

    Does anybody else think that
    Does anybody else think that both teams seemed to do zero research? … I did like the zombie idea. Not sure zAMbie worked.

  25. Jenn April 19, 2012

    I didn’t watch the show. I
    I didn’t watch the show. I know it would infuriate me. But reading your review has made me hope that the show will go on forever. This way I can continue to read your eloquent and pants-peeingly hilarious recaps.

    A masterpiece.

  26. Mark Langan April 20, 2012

    Loved the show but what can I
    Loved the show but what can I say…”I’m a glutton for punishment” & still feel the same as “Every dog has its day!” Best of all this review was some of the most enjoyable reading.

  27. BlackBanana April 20, 2012

    WDCW dodged a massive bullet
    WDCW dodged a massive bullet not getting this account. I have never seen another client suck the creative energy out of an agency like Subway does.

  28. Anonymous April 21, 2012

    I agree completely with
    I agree completely with everything you said.. i really like “no be zambie” and have been quoting it all day.. thanks for posting

  29. Anonymous April 23, 2012

    Infuriating! zAMbie is such
    Infuriating! zAMbie is such a better idea than Freestyle Breakfast which is totally based on the breakfast rapper guy. WDCW you rocked it. Clients loved it, then talked themselves out of it. And, in the recap, Tony Pace has the balls to say that the presentation from McKinney was better??? That they got it??? That dork CD freaking bombed with the talkshow sandwiches. McKinney didn’t even talk about the consumer insight. WDCW went right to a truth of the 18-24 audience and did something that would get their attention, and had legs to become a truly campaignable idea. ugh.

  30. Felix April 23, 2012

    I have to chime in again
    I have to chime in again here. I was going to write another rant about the video of Tony Pace, but I don’t think it deserves another whole post. I was going to say something regarding the “editing” policies brought up by several commenters. True enough, these shows are skewed to get you riled up. Who knows what really went on.

    Then I saw that video of Mr. Tubby.

    First, before I dive into the horse manure he delivered, is it not a little ironic that the marketing chief at Subway looks like Jared did before he lost all the weight? I mean, eat fresh is your slogan, not eat everything. Shouldn’t the marketing guy live and breathe the company vision? Clearly, he ain’t eatin’ fresh and staying trim. So, there’s that.

    But the big issue is how he talks about a great Y&R creative director, and how they would discus “the power of big ideas.”

    This idol of his was focused on campaigns that have big ideas. He even heard his voice in his head during the pitches, and the fact that the idea is something that you can work with for a long time.

    Then he says you could “make an argument” that the zAMbie work was more intrusive.

    No argument. It’s a fact.

    And then, the usual client horseshit came tumbling out of his mouth, and falling all over the words of his former CD mentor.

    What it came down to was that it’s about more than the idea.
    It’s about who you’re working with.

    And what does that mean?
    Read between the lines and you get this…

    Which agency will more easily do our bidding?
    Which agency will be less argumentative when we ask for 100 product shots in a shitty commercial?
    Which agency will roll over and beg?
    Which agency has less integrity?
    Which agency costs less?

    He also said he could see Freestyle Breakfast going in a whole pile of different directions!

    So, while I did have some doubts, they have vanished.
    The bottom line is – Subway are fucking awful clients. And Tony Pace is the worst kind of CMO. He understands enough to be dangerous, and he just doesn’t give a shit about good creative.

    Mini-rant over.

  31. Life's A Pitch And Then You Die April 23, 2012

    “Eat fresh is your slogan,
    “Eat fresh is your slogan, not eat everything.”

    Felix, if they gave a Pulitzer Prize for talking smack, you’d have it in the bag. F’ing brilliant, mate.

  32. Politicass April 23, 2012

    Nobody Can Top the Five
    Nobody Can Top the Five Dollar Workman Jam! Where is episode two already?

  33. H.D. April 30, 2012

    Interesting and frustrating
    Interesting and frustrating show, awesome review. McKinney was not portrayed positively, especially the CCO. He came off as an unsupportive jerk. Any actual work done based on a YouTube video is likely to be as forgettable as the video itself. At least WDCW did something original that would actually be relatable to the target audience.

    Oy, this business. I love it and hate it.

  34. Anonymous May 1, 2012

    It was an interesting episode
    It was an interesting episode to watch. But at least Subway got it right. The better team won, and it wasn’t even close. The zAMbie stuff wad absolutely horrible. Cringe-worthy. one of the worst campaigns I’ve ever seen.

  35. SaladMan May 1, 2012

    Ah, there goes the exception
    Ah, there goes the exception to the rule. He/she is also waiting to grow thumbs.

  36. Patrick Part2 May 1, 2012

    “”Eat fresh is your slogan,
    “”Eat fresh is your slogan, not eat everything.”

    I read this yesterday and than watch last night and almost shat myself when this guy showed up on screen. Listen to Jared.

  37. Web Marketing Houston May 3, 2012

    Another reality TV show gone
    Another reality TV show gone bad.

  38. Melinda B May 3, 2012

    At least you can expect the
    At least you can expect the very least, particularly in a tv show, which can be applied to people too. I always do.

  39. Anonymous May 7, 2012

    Was there actual strategy
    Was there actual strategy behind the creative? Obviously not, just a competition for taglines. This program reinforces that advertising is about the the sexiness of the big idea, and nothing else. We’re in a vapid industry that equates success with impressions — in this case, The Pitch is no different than Housewives and their superficial judgements.

  40. Anonymous May 8, 2012

    Ok. Everyone seems to be
    Ok. Everyone seems to be giving Jonathan a bit of a hard time but lets be honest here, the ideas the creative teams came up with were pure shit.

    I’d find to it hard to keep up-beat working with those muppets.

  41. JohnnyO May 8, 2012

    Couple of things…
    For the

    Couple of things…

    For the media dimwits that don’t do research – the “account” was not up for grabs here – it was just one project, and that project is done…the video production that aired online and on the show was what they won, not the Subway account. Subway is happy with their current long-standing agency.

    For those that criticize Tony Pace for “not knowing good creative when he sees it”…um, hate to break it to you, but he DOESN’T give a shit about “good creative”, he cares about selling Subway sandwiches. And if you look at Subway’s sales numbers, it’s pretty clear he’s doing a damn good job. That’s what he gets paid for…and that’s what he delivers.

    And this brings me to the main issue with advertising hacks these days – they miss the WHOLE fucking point. It’s about selling, not about impressing peers. If half of you figured that out, maybe all the shitheads in the industry would finally go away and leave the work to the true professionals.

  42. Anonymous May 8, 2012

    That’s good business.
    That’s good business.

    Creative is more of an inner expressive personal struggle, however you deal, cope, face, or handle it! It is intense. Some people don’t want to deal with it. Sometimes it spurs from extreme circumstances and sometimes it is a natural gift.

    Intensity that brings out the best and worst in people and the reputation you will have in the whole picture, which a few people might actually have good concept of experiencing or seeing, or in facets in different fronts which are fragmented and can easily be taken out of context, blown out of proportion.

    People that are really good at what they do amaze people and are few and far between. The wrest is pesky mediocre wasted bs wannabe pedestal upholding dreamers.

  43. Anonymous May 8, 2012

    Most of these shows make
    Most of these shows make jackasses out of everyone and make functioning life difficult, if that’s entertainment today? So smut, some of it is. Some if it is a level more respectable or decent than others. WHERE ARE THE BOUNDARIES AND ETHICS? Most people choose their professions and involvement levels to the most part; take your own share of responsibility!

    As a whole it can be hard to keep it all together for the long run longevity on all ends of all seasons. Not for the lazy ass! If you expect it, let your standards down, it can be pulled from out of underneath you. If those are interested in partaking and following and writing about? In different grades of seriousness.

    I would be shocked to see it bring out the best in people and not the absolute pitiful absurdity. To be inspired, to be rushed with adrenaline, to be focused and articulate and well presented?

  44. David Esrati May 9, 2012

    Well JohnnyO- the reason
    Well JohnnyO- the reason Subway might be doing so well selling sandwiches is that the CMO is buying them by the boatload and stuffing them down his throat.
    Face it- the brief sucked. The only reason Subway is trying to get in the breakfast business is some MBA said- hmmmm…. we’ve got stores and we’re only using them 12 hours a day. Domino’s is still trying to sell breakfast pizza’s again.
    The pitch is a show about the worst part of advertising- made worse by compressing the creative process and the research into a stupid short period for “entertainment.”
    Would W+K have won the Nike business like this? Would they have ever gotten a chance to go to “there is no finish line” and then to “Just do it” if this show was around then?
    In the real world- really great work comes from really great relationships between client and agency- Pace and Cude will make fabulous babies together- I’m sure of it.
    Babies we’ll want to kill.
    WDCW took the whole thing in stride- it was good marketing for them. These guys can do great work- although Quizno’s wasn’t it.
    Having met both Doody and Crandell’s former partner I’m pretty sure these guys will win something better out of this.

  45. Hawkeye May 9, 2012

    As others have stated, this
    As others have stated, this show is, in many ways, a referendum on the client.

    Subway spewed lame cliches about what they wanted, then went the trite, safe and lame route. Their agency of record (MMB) is as spineless and vanilla as they come, so no surprise there.

  46. MARK FUCKING WHITE May 10, 2012

    You’ve described exactly what
    You’ve described exactly what I thought while watching that horror unfold. At first I thought zAMbie was a stretch until I saw the brilliant language & that final piece…genius! WDCW came out looking good, everyone else looked like an automaton waiting for their turn under the money fountain.

    Hey Subway ad people: NO BE ZOMBIE. STOP DO.

  47. Scott May 11, 2012

    Felix, F-ING
    Felix, F-ING HILARIOUS…..

    You nailed it with your blend of sarcasm and truth.

    I think I enjoyed your commentary more than I enjoyed the show!

    I think Wong should have done a commercial with Zombies approaching Subway and leaving Normal. Having the former Zombies holding the door as two Zombies enter searching for good breakfast food. But hey I agree their idea was superior to the recycled rap crap.

  48. Anonymous August 20, 2012

    Working with most clients is
    Working with most clients is like dipping a corndog in shit and hoping to end up with a coffee crisp. All you get is a shitty corndog.

  49. Rick January 11, 2013

    Cant wait for the next
    Cant wait for the next episode of this article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.